RSS Feed

Serendipity

Posted on

Serendipity – an aptitude for making desirable discovery by accident; good fortune.

After an extremely busy spring, I’m ready to jump into summer with both feet.  I’ve taken the summer off from my studies, my son is obviously out of school, and we’re moving into a wonderful house on a half-acre.

While I’ve been planning this move for some time now (my father is moving in with me as he’s entered his twilight years), I’ve still had my radar scanning for opportunities that are food and wine related.

I’m attending this year’s Wine Bloggers Conference in Portland after missing all prior years conference, the most recent in 2011 in Virginia.  Earlier this year, I had begun blogging more earnestly and started looking at my financial situation and budget to see where I could save money for the costs associated with the trip.  I’d also applied earlier this spring for the WBC Scholarship, and was confident I’d receive some much needed help.

On June 18, I received an email that I’d been granted funds to cover airfare, and would be reimbursed for registration, hooray!

While this doesn’t count as a serendipitous event since I’d applied for the Scholarship, it seemed like a good dose of “good fortune,” particularly since I’d already gone through the entire ordeal of qualifying for a loan and buying a home.

Today I was exchanging emails with a local writer who’d written an article I appreciated.  We were both local to the East Bay Area and exchanged a couple emails regarding area landmarks, some of which are no longer in existence.  He must have found my prior comments on articles that I am interested in food, because he then asked if I’d be interested in writing about food for his online magazine.  I responded with a hearty ‘yes’ and sent him a link to my published article with edible East Bay.  This truly would be serendipity if a simple email turned into another writing opportunity.

I’m excited for the long weekend in August in Portland for so many reasons, It will be a huge opportunity for me to learn more about wine and writing from other bloggers and guest speakers.

~H

About hkremer

San Francisco East Bay

One response »

  1. Have fun in Portland and learn something for me! I just now learned that such scholarship opportunities existed, so I missed the boat this year. I have tried to attend this conference for a few years now but cannot seem dig up the dough (life has a way of getting in the way sometimes). I will look forward to your posts following the WBC.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

herban lifestyle

making the world a happier, healthier, better-smelling place

Hen House

It is a tantalizing array of frou-frou and advance stages of decay.

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cyclilng, travel, family, and math.

A to Zinfandel's Blog

All things wine, from A to Z

Wine Inside

Indipendent blog about Italian wines

D' Vine Wine Time

Where affordable California wines;  meet everyday people.

Cliff's Wine Picks

Notes and info on wines you may have in your cellar.

Your Home with Karie Engels

Live Life Out Loud

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

The Heritage Cook ®

Sharing traditions, one recipe at a time!

TheWineBlog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Anaba Wines Blog

The Winds of Sonoma Lent us our name....

Viansa Winery

The online home for sonoma's Viansa Winery

EnjoyFineWines::wine info, wine resources, wine education, wine tasting

See, Smell, Swirl, Savor, Enjoy the Aromas & the Flavors!

Seattle Wine Gal

Social Media Advice and Tips for Seattle Area Wineries and Wine Shops

Flora Springs' Winery Ghost

A Blog by Thomas Becker

winehero

conversations about the people, the places and the issues in the Australian wine community

grapestuff

Just another WordPress.com site

The Wine Dog Review

Meet my alter-ego Nikita; she shares her puppy ponderings for easy sipping

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,921 other followers

