RSS Feed

What wine goes with Gehacktes (a traditional German dish)?

Posted on

We know the dish here in the United States as Steak Tartare.  In the Middle East, it’s known as Kibbe, and in Ethiopia a heavily spiced version of the dish is known as kitfo.  In German, the dish is known as Gehacktes if using beef, Mett if using pork.

My father has asked me to make Gehacktes for him for his birthday and Father’s Day this year.  I’ve never made it before, but I am not concerned with the preparation of the dish.  My concern is that the dish that my mother made for me growing up is uncooked beef.  Yep, raw beef.  I’ve had beef twice this calendar year as I’ve tried to change my eating habits (read: I went on a strict nearly-vegan diet).  The thought of preparing this dish is a non-issue.  The thought of eating this dish is something else.

Here’s a photo care of (c) Verena N. / pixelio.de from the http://mstarlikes.blogspot.com/2012/07/like-5-gehacktesbrotchen.html website.  This photo shows the gehacktes spread on sourdough or French break and topped with pickles and herbs.

Gehacktes

My father’s version doesn’t include the gehacktes spread onto bread, but served in a loaf.  Here’s the recipe as he remembers it:

  • One pound (or more) of ground top sirloin ground twice
  • At least 3-4 bunches of green onions sliced finely
  • 1-2 raw egg (not sure if white included or just yolk)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Bild_img16

Mix the meat with some of the green onions, the egg (yolk?) and salt and pepper, preferably by hand.  Form loaf on platter and cover with remaining sliced green onions.  Chill and serve with hot buttered sourdough bread.

When I thought to myself, “How am I going to eat this??”  and “I’m not letting my *son* eat this!”  I began to see something different.  First of all, I told my father that yes, I would be happy to make it but I had conditions.  “First,” I said, “all the food is going to be purchased at either Whole Foods Market or Diablo Foods — I’m not making the dish with beef from Joe’s Market.”  He happily agreed.

wi-8greatrose-608Photo courtesy of gourmet.com

Then it hit me:  What could I drink with it?  The meat will be very lean so while I know I would need a good acid wine, it didn’t have to be sauvignon blanc acid.  The onions on and throughout the dish are making me consider something with high acid and sweetness.   Grenache rosé?  I’m stumped, and wine/food pairing was not my forte before I told my dad I would take on this endeavor.

Truth be told, I’m happy to make the dish for him.  He’s about to turn 77 and probably doesn’t remember the last time he had the dish, so I want to make it as memorable as possible (for all the right and good reasons!).

So, what do you think??  What wine would pair best with gehacktes?

~H

About hkremer

San Francisco East Bay

One response »

  1. I grew up eating gehacktes, make it quite often, and have eaten it when in Germany for years. Unfortunately, I don’t recall ever seeing anyone drink wine with it. A nice beer, such as Yuengling or St Pauli Girl would be perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

herban lifestyle

making the world a happier, healthier, better-smelling place

Hen House

It is a tantalizing array of frou-frou and advance stages of decay.

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cyclilng, travel, family, and math.

A to Zinfandel's Blog

All things wine, from A to Z

Wine Inside

Indipendent blog about Italian wines

D' Vine Wine Time

Where affordable California wines;  meet everyday people.

Cliff's Wine Picks

Notes and info on wines you may have in your cellar.

Your Home with Karie Engels

Live Life Out Loud

'The Contra-Connoisseur’s Guide to Wine, Beer, Spirits And Other Stuff The World Got Right'.

The Heritage Cook ®

Sharing traditions, one recipe at a time!

TheWineBlog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Anaba Wines Blog

The Winds of Sonoma Lent us our name....

Viansa Winery

The online home for sonoma's Viansa Winery

EnjoyFineWines::wine info, wine resources, wine education, wine tasting

See, Smell, Swirl, Savor, Enjoy the Aromas & the Flavors!

Seattle Wine Gal

Social Media Advice and Tips for Seattle Area Wineries and Wine Shops

Flora Springs' Winery Ghost

A Blog by Thomas Becker

winehero

conversations about the people, the places and the issues in the Australian wine community

grapestuff

Just another WordPress.com site

The Wine Dog Review

Meet my alter-ego Nikita; she shares her puppy ponderings for easy sipping

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,921 other followers

