RSS Feed

Southwestern pork and Spanish rice

Posted on

They say it takes 23 days to establish a habit.  This is my fourth day in a row blogging about food and cooking, so only 19 days to go before it “sticks.” Wish me luck!

Roast-Pork-Shoulder

Tonight I made a very inexpensive dinner of Southwestern pork with Spanish rice.  I used two pork shoulder loin chops, both of which were less than $3.00 combined.

I adapted the recipe from a Southwestern cookbook my father gave me a few years ago (per my request!) for Christmas, and it had been recommended to me by my boss.  My boss and his wife use the cookbook specifically for a fish marinade.

The recipe calls it Carne adovada (pork cured in red chili) and refers to it as “pickled pork.”  I used this recipe only for seasoning ideas.

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1 cup olive oil

1-1/2 to 2 tablespoons mild chili powder

2 pork shoulder chops (bone in)

1 tablespoon vinegar

1 teaspoon cumin

2/3 cup water

The recipe calls for the meat to be cured in the above mixture, but I began braising it on the stove immediately.  It took less than an hour for the meat to simmer and fall of the bones, and the only other ingredient necessary was sea salt.

Spanish Rice

I served the pork over Spanish rice (Goya, $2.99 at most per bag for 2-4 servings), and voila! Dinner was served.

Sadly I failed to remember that it was the pinot grigio I was supposed to drink with the scallops earlier this week.  I had purchased tequila for tonight’s meal, but the lock had not been removed by the clerk when checking out and I am unable to open the bottle until I return to the store.  In any event, the pinot grigio appears to be a refreshing beverage with any meal, and I’ve enjoyed before, during, and after tonight’s meal.

About hkremer

San Francisco East Bay

Leave a Reply

From Valerie's Kitchen

Simple, seasonal home cooking

Wine and Food World

Exploring the world of food, wine, travel and culture with award-winning journalist Doug Levy and Friends

Heidi Roberts Kitchen Talk

A wine blog with food for thought...

uncorkBC

Encouraging you to explore and sip the wines produced in this beautiful province, British Columbia. uncorkQUALITY. uncorkCHARACTER. uncorkBC.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

lusciouslushes.com/

-a wine, food, and travel blog

Sacred Drop Channel

Bringing you the culture behind the wine, beer and food.

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

Steven Kent Portfolio

World-class Brands, Iconic Wines

Traveling Wine Chick

Curator of Extraordinary Lifestyle Experiences

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cycling, travel, family, and math.

A to Zinfandel's Blog

All things wine, from A to Z

Wine Inside

Indipendent blog about Italian wines

D' Vine Wine Time

Where affordable California wines;  meet everyday people.

