RSS Feed

Another Wine Bloggers Conference missed…

Posted on

It’s not surprising that I’m posting to my blog for the first time in exactly a year.  Today is the beginning of the Wine Bloggers Conference in Charlotteville Virginia, and I was unable to attend.

I’ve been working freelance for a local food magazine, and while I was full of fresh ideas on who and how to sell the advertising, the economy is still in the pits, and the customers I was pursuing are small businesses.  Needless to say, I was not very successful, and have to put my attention into other areas for freelance income.

My goal was to save enough money to pay for airfare, registration ($295.00 due to media status), lodging, and meals.  Sadly, I was unable to come up with the funds, and knew this by late April/early May.

The Wine Bloggers Conference for 2012 is to be voted on this weekend, so I’m following the hasthtag #wbc11 today and the rest of the weekend to get a flavor of what I’ve missed, and learn where the conference will be next year.

So far, the choices are: Portland, Oregon, Penticton, British Columbia, and Santa Barbara County [Buellton], California.

The conference was held in Oregon [correction: Walla Walla Washington] in 2010, so I think that location may be nixed.

Penticton B.C. would be an attractive venue, and the hotel where the conference would be located is on the shore of a lake, and resembles Lake Tahoe. This would be an attractive venue for Washington state wineries.

However, I’ve never obtained a passport and a current one is now needed in order to travel to Canada.  This seems strange to me as I would go to Toronto frequently with my parents as a child in the mid 70’s when we lived in Michigan, and not only did they not require a passport, but the Canadien currency was  used throughout the suburban area in which we lived as readily as our own currency.

Buellton is a central coast town south of San Luis Obispo, and north-east of Santa Barbara.  The reasons to have the conference here, for me personally, are multitude.

I would be able to drive down with local friends, so this venture would be much more economical.  The fact that Buellton is the destination, versus the city of Santa Barbara, is significant.  Santa Barbara is a very expensive city, and hotel costs, regardless of discounts for large numbers of people, would be prohibitive.

I’ve found a new website to offer freelance services, and have already created a profile.  I’ve already created a plan to set more money aside, so I think it will just be a matter of time before I reach my goal.  And this time, I will keep on writing!!

~H

About hkremer

San Francisco East Bay

Leave a Reply

From Valerie's Kitchen

Simple, seasonal home cooking

Wine and Food World

Exploring the world of food, wine, travel and culture with award-winning journalist Doug Levy and Friends

Heidi Roberts Kitchen Talk

A wine blog with food for thought...

uncorkBC

Encouraging you to explore and sip the wines produced in this beautiful province, British Columbia. uncorkQUALITY. uncorkCHARACTER. uncorkBC.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

lusciouslushes.com/

-a wine, food, and travel blog

Sacred Drop Channel

Bringing you the culture behind the wine, beer and food.

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

Steven Kent Portfolio

World-class Brands, Iconic Wines

Traveling Wine Chick

Purveyor and Curator of Travel and Wine Experiences

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cycling, travel, family, and math.

A to Zinfandel's Blog

All things wine, from A to Z

Wine Inside

Indipendent blog about Italian wines

D' Vine Wine Time

Where affordable California wines;  meet everyday people.

