RSS Feed

Writing for Wine

Posted on

Deciding to do something takes more than a decision.  It takes reflection, it needs to be shared with friends, so they will support you on your decision, and it needs to be acted on.

I took a journalism class a year ago because I thought it would help me with writing.  I wanted to find a more distinct voice, and I wanted to learn more about what it takes to write an article.  I am fortunate that one of my articles for my class was published in edible East Bay.  I’d been doing freelance marketing for edible East Bay, and while the editor assigned the article to me for both my classwork and for her magazine, I was grateful my first article was published.

I wrote a subsequent article for the magazine about an application for a new viticultural designation in eastern Contra Costa County.  I enjoyed writing the article immensely, but ran into some confusion that exists within the Bay Area’s official wine-growing designations.  The article was shelved and I haven’t written anything since.

Even though it had only been a few months since I’d written anything of importance, and I was very busy with family issues and summer vacation travels,  I felt as if I were leaving something unfinished.

Last Friday I met with the editor to catch up as we’d not done so in a few months due to travel schedule conflicts.  She and I discussed my next writing assignment.  I’m not sure what the exact article will be about at this moment, but can say it is wine related.

It seemed serendipitous that I was receiving a wine article assignment the weekend of the Wine Bloggers Conference in Charlottesville, Virginia.  I’m going to make this serendipity my “push” to keep writing regularly on this blog so I can focus on next year’s conference in Portland which, incidentally, is being held on my birthday.

~H

About hkremer

San Francisco East Bay

Leave a Reply

From Valerie's Kitchen

Simple, seasonal home cooking

Wine and Food World

Exploring the world of food, wine, travel and culture with award-winning journalist Doug Levy and Friends

Heidi Roberts Kitchen Talk

A wine blog with food for thought...

uncorkBC

Encouraging you to explore and sip the wines produced in this beautiful province, British Columbia. uncorkQUALITY. uncorkCHARACTER. uncorkBC.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

lusciouslushes.com/

-a wine, food, and travel blog

Sacred Drop Channel

Bringing you the culture behind the wine, beer and food.

SAHMmelier

Stay at home mom, lover of wine

Talk-A-Vino

Wine, food and life

Steven Kent Portfolio

World-class Brands, Iconic Wines

Traveling Wine Chick

Curator of Extraordinary Lifestyle Experiences

the drunken cyclist

I have three passions: wine, cycling, travel, family, and math.

A to Zinfandel's Blog

All things wine, from A to Z

Wine Inside

Indipendent blog about Italian wines

D' Vine Wine Time

Where affordable California wines;  meet everyday people.

